Research Guides: Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation: Databases/Articles

Subject Specific Databases

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) This link opens in a new window
Established as a new tool in life science publication and communication, JoVE uses video technology to capture and transmit the multiple facets and intricacies of life science research.
LWW Health Library - Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window

PubMed
More than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites

UpToDate This link opens in a new window

Keywords for Searching

Keyword mapping tools can be useful when exploring a new topic. Try using this for discovering new keywords or for broadening or narrowing your search.

Visuwords
Build a graphic display of alternate keywords for a particular term. Works like a thesaurus with a dictionary built in.

Off Campus Users

NOTE: Access to many of the resources on the QU library website is restricted to currently registered students, faculty and staff.

When accessing a library resource from outside the university, you will be prompted to enter their QU email username and password to gain access.

If you have problems accessing a database, please contact: lib.eresources@qu.edu.qa

Search Tips

Tips for better search results using Boolean or Advanced Searches

Heart and Lung searches for occurrences of both words

Heart or Lung searches for or all, but both are not required

Heart not Lung searches for occurrences of the word ‘Al-Andalus’ but without use of the word ‘Andalusia'

"Medical Education" searches for the words as a pair not individually

histor* searches for history, historical, historian, historiography, etc.

m?n searches for man and men.

Multidisciplinary and General Databases

Broad databases, covering a wide variety of topics, are useful for interdisplinary research. These databases are a good place to begin your search on most topics.

Academic Search Ultimate (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window

Free Physical Therapy databases

PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 27,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.
Physiotherapy Choices
Physiotherapy Choices is a database designed for use by consumers of physiotherapy services, including patients, their friends and families, health service managers, and insurers. The database provides a catalogue of the best research evidence of the effectiveness of physiotherapy interventions.