Research Guides: Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Why use Encyclopedias?

Encyclopedias provide an overview and introduction to a topic. Encyclopedias are meant to get you started on a topic and can help you become familar with issues and terminology in a subject area. They will provide you with background information and additional references. They are not research documents.

Companion Encyclopedia of the History of Medicine by W. F. Bynum (Editor); Roy Porter (Editor)
ISBN: 0415164184
Publication Date: 1997-10-29
Encyclopedia of Exercise Medicine in Health and Disease by Frank C. Mooren (Editor); James S. Skinner (Editor)
ISBN: 9783540298076
Publication Date: 2012-05-31
Encyclopedia of Health Communication by Teresa L. Thompson
ISBN: 9781483346410
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Encyclopedia of Intensive Care Medicine by Jean-Louis Vincent (Editor); Jesse B. Hall (Editor)
ISBN: 9783642004186
Publication Date: 2012-03-30
Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion by Thomas P. Gullotta (Editor); Martin Bloom (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461459996
Publication Date: 2014-10-24
Encyclopedia of respiratory medicine by Geoffrey J. Laurent and Steven D. Shapiro
ISBN: 9780123708793
Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by Lyle J. Micheli
ISBN: 9781412961158
Publication Date: 2010-11-17
Encyclopedia of Traditional Chinese Medicines by Jiaju Zhou; Guirong Xie; Xinjian Yan
ISBN: 9783642167386
Publication Date: 2011-02-21
The Royal Society of Medicine Health Encyclopedia by R. M. Youngson
ISBN: 9781849720267
Publication Date: 2001-12-31

Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
more...less...
The information provided herein should not be used during any medical emergency or for the diagnosis or treatment of any medical condition. A licensed physician should be consulted for diagnosis and treatment of any and all medical conditions. Links to other sites are provided for information only -- they do not constitute endorsements of those other sites. Copyright 1997-2015 A.D.A.M., Inc. Duplication for commercial use must be authorized in writing by ADAM Health Solutions.
Medical Encyclopedia Index
With the medical encyclopedia, you can:
Research a Disease or Condition,
Get More Out of Your Care,
Understand an Emergency.

E-Reference Collections

Encyclopedia of biomaterials and biomedical engineering by Wnek, Gary E.,
ISBN: 9781420078039
Publication Date: 2008