Social Science

Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, Twenty Five Volume Set, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading

Modern social thought ranges widely from the social sciences to philosophy, political theories and doctrines, cultural ideas and movements, and the influence of the natural sciences. Provides an authoritative overview of the main themes of social thought. Long essays and entries give full coverage to each topic. Covers major currents of thought, philosophical and cultural trends, and the individual social sciences from anthropology to welfare economics. New edition updates about 200 entries and includes new entries, suggestions for further reading, and a bibliography of all sources cited within the text.

CONCISE DICTIONARY OF SOCIAL AND CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY CONCISE DICTIONARY OF SOCIAL AND CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY "The Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology will provide invaluable assistance to anthropological researchers both old and new. It provides an authoritative single point of reference to the wide range of technical terms that professional anthropologists are expected to understand." David Zeitlyn, Oxford University The Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology is an accessible, hands-on guide to the hundreds of terms the student of anthropology and the general reader will encounter in dealing with anthropological and ethnographic literature. It includes related terminology from allied fields such as sociology, economics, and geography. The focus is on key concepts in anthropology, with a number of biographies included to identify influential figures who have formulated central theories and conducted the most famous field research within cultures around the world. Extensive bibliographical references provide pointers for further research. Anthropology is a relatively young discipline with a complex history. Anthropological research encompasses hundreds of cultures and provides a valuable perspective on an increasingly globalized world. Written by a researcher and librarian expert in the fields of social and cultural anthropology, this Concise Dictionary offers an invaluable reference to the terminology and accomplishments of this far-reaching and diverse field.