Broad databases, covering a wide variety of topics, are useful for interdisplinary research. These databases are a good place to begin your search on most topics.
A scholarly and multidisciplinary database containing full text for nearly 12,000 periodicals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America included. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Tips for better search results using Boolean or Advanced Searches
toxin and poison searches for occurrences of both words
toxin or poison searches for or all, but both are not required
toxin not poison searches for occurrences of the word ‘toxin’ but without use of the word ‘poison'
"bioactive compounds" searches for the words as a pair not individually
molecul* searches for molecule, molecules, molecular, molecularity, etc.
m?n searches for man and men.
Keyword mapping tools can be useful when exploring a new topic. Try using this for discovering new keywords or for broadening or narrowing your search.
These databases specialize in chemistry-related topics and useful for focused or esoteric research.
ACS journals provides full-text access to all scientific journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS). Coverage includes articles from year of first issue (some begin as early as 1879) up to the current issue. Please note that Chemical & Engineering News is not included.
Dates Covered: 1879 - current
Language: English
Types of Coverage: Full text articles
A peer reviewed publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in an innovative video format. JoVE films and edits videos of researchers performing experimental techniques at universities in the fields of biology, medicine, chemistry, and physics.
Dates Covered: 2006 - Current
Language: English
Types of Coverage: Scientific video journal
The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biological compounds as well as organic name reactions.
The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), publisher of over 30 high-quality journals in chemistry, biochemistry, materials and related fields, such as Engineering (Petroleum, chemical , material science ) , Agriculture, environment, and health sciences (Biochemistry and pharmacy).
Dates Covered: 2014- January 2016
Language: English
Types of Coverage: Partial Full text
NOTE: Access to many of the resources on the QU library website is restricted to currently registered students, faculty and staff.
When accessing a library resource from outside the university, you will be prompted to enter their QU email username and password to gain access.
If you have problems accessing a database, please contact: lib.eresources@qu.edu.qa