Research Guides: Islamic History: Databases/Articles

Subject Specific Databases

Al Manhal Database This link opens in a new window
Dar Al Mandumah - AraBase This link opens in a new window
Islamic Heritage Project This link opens in a new window
Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from the Harvard Library collection. The Project, made possible with the support of Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal, includes over 156,000 pages dating from the 13th to the 20 centuries. The documents are from Saudi Arabia, North Africa, Egypt, Syria, Lebanon, Palestine, Iran, Iraq, Turkey, and South, Southeast, and Central Asia and primarily in Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish. Subjects include: history, geography, law, calligraphy, poetry and literature, rhetoric, logic, philosophy, astronomy, astrology, mathematics, and medicine.

Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources (AMIR)
This project began as a consequence of a series of conversations in 2010 between Charles Jones and Peter Magierski at NYU about the need for a tool to assemble and distribute information on open access material relating to the Middle East.
Minassian Collection of Quranic Manuscripts
This database catalogues the holdings of over 200 Qur’anic manuscript folios dating from the 9th to the 16th centuries housed within the special collections of the Brown University libraries.
Middle East Resource Guide
"Extensive and well organized collection of links about the Middle East. Particularly rich is its Middle East media section. Also a strong section for governmental reports of interest to political scientists and others in the social sciences." Source: Islamic Studies - Brown U Library

Tips for better search results using Boolean or Advanced Searches

Al-Andalus and Andalusia searches for occurrences of both words

Al-Andalus or Andalusia searches for or all, but both are not required

Al-Andalus not Andalusia searches for occurrences of the word ‘Al-Andalus’ but without use of the word ‘Andalusia'

"Islamic law" searches for the words as a pair not individually

histor* searches for history, historical, historian, historiography, etc.

m?n searches for man and men.

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.