Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Websites

Regional Links

An Illustrated Checklist of the Flora of Qatar
more...less...
By John Norton, Sara Abdul Majid, Debbie Allan,
Mohammed Al Safran, Benno Böer & Renee Richer
Jewels of the UAE
Saudi Aramco World
more...less...
Saudi Aramco World, Saudi Aramco's flagship publication, is widely recognized as a leading source of apolitical information about the history, geography, arts and cultures of Saudi Arabia, the Middle East and the wider Islamic world. Archive contains more than 30,000 images

Government search engines

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
This database contains citations to over 3.7 million records, both in English and non-English. It covers all aspects of agriculture including agronomy, animal science, biology, biotechnology, botany, breeding, chemistry, conservation, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, farm management, food and nutrition, forestry, horticulture, pesticides, pollution, water quality and zoology.
Dates Covered: 1979 - current
Language: English and Non-English
Types of Coverage: Indexing with citations and abstracts

Science.gov
Science.gov searches through thousands of databases to provide authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance
GoPubMed
Search engine for biomedical texts
Integrated Taxonomic Information System
" involving government agencies in Canada, the US, and Mexico—providing an automated reference database of scientific and common names for species"

Databases

Biological Sciences Websites

Actionbioscience
"sponsored by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) -- providing articles by scientists, science educators, and science students on issues related to seven bioscience challenges: environment, biodiversity, genomics, biotechnology, evolution, new frontiers in science, and bioscience education"
Animal diversity Web
" online database that collects the natural history, classification, species characteristics, conservation biology, and distribution information of thousands of species of animals. It includes thousands of photographs, hundreds of sound clips, and a virtual museum."
Animal Genome Size database
"created by Dr. T. Ryan Gregory of the University of Guelph in Canada—publishing genome size estimates for vertebrate and invertebrate animals"
Arkive
"Explore 15,000 of the world’s endangered species. With over 100,000 photos and videos, discover what these animals, plants and fungi look like, what makes them special and why we should protect them."
The Bio-Web
Resources for cell and molecular biologists
Brenda
"is the main collection of enzyme functional data that is available to the scientific community. It includes information on enzyme nomenclature, structure, function and molecular properties."
Cengage Bio Websites
List of websites arranged alphabetically by topic, from algae to water.
Encyclopedia of Life
"A free, online collaborative encyclopedia intended to document all of the 1.9 million living species known to science.It is compiled from existing databases and from contributions by experts and non-experts throughout the world."
Enzyme Nomenclature
"This site provides the recommendations of the Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) on the Nomenlature and Classification of Enzyme-Catalysed Reactions. It contains general information on enzyme nomenclature as well as links to related information sources."
International Plant Names Index
"The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes."
The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Able to limit search by country.
more...less...
"Is widely recognized as the most comprehensive, objective global approach for evaluating the conservation status of plant and animal species."
MarLin
The Marine Life Information Network
National Academic Press
Search and read over 5,000 e-books on topics ranging from climate change to vaccines. Searchable by title, topic, SBN, or DOI.
Omics Gateway
"Biology has become an increasingly data-rich subject, and NPG is committed to helping the community mine those data for novel insight. Many of the emerging fields of large-scale data-rich biology are designated by adding the suffix ‘-omics’ onto previously used terms."
PLOS
"PLOS (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication."
Structural Genomics Knowledgebase
"Research data and resources from the Protein Structure Initiative, complemented with structural biology updates from Nature Publishing Group."
Tree of Life Web Project
"The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history."

Biology Agencies

Biochemical Society
Society dedicated to the advancement of the molecular and cellular biosciences
Biotechnology Industry Organization
more...less...
"BIO members are involved in the research and development of innovative healthcare, agricultural, industrial and environmental biotechnology products."
British Society for Cell Biology
Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations
"The term "agricultural biotechnology" covers a broad range of technologies that are being used to an increasing extent in crops, livestock, forestry, fisheries and aquaculture, and agro-industry."
more...less...
"FAO has been at the forefront in recent years in providing high-quality, updated, science-based, neutral information on agricultural biotechnologies to its Members and their institutions."
IMBS - The institute of Biomedical Science
Organization dedicated to advancing the research and interests of biomedical sciences
Institute of Medicine
more...less...
"..private, nonprofit institutions that provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation and conduct other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions related to science, technology, and medicine."
The Linnean Society of London
"the world’s oldest active biological society."
Microbiology Society
"..the largest learned microbiological society in Europe"
National Academy of Sciences (NAS)
more...less...
"The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, nonprofit organization of the country’s leading researchers. The NAS recognizes and promotes outstanding science through election to membership; publication in its journal, PNAS; and its awards, programs, and special activities."
National Center for Biotechnology Information
more...less...
"The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information."
National Science Foundation (NSF)
more...less...
"The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…"
Royal Society of Biology
Advocacy organization focusing on advancing government policy and promoting education and professional development in the field of biological sciences.
U.S. National Institutes of Health
Search health topics by keyword, or browse health-related publications, or explore funding opportunities for research.