Research Guides: Public Health: Articles/Databases

Major Biomedical Databases

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window

Springer Link Journals
Thousands of full-text journal articles on many subjects including the life sciences.
Web of Knowledge by ISI
Web of Knowledge by ISI includes 4 databases: Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports with Impact Factors, Current Contents for Table of Contents delivery, and Medline.

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

Keyword

Visuwords
Build a graphic display of alternate keywords for a particular term. Works like a thesaurus with a dictionary built in.

Keyword mapping tools can be useful when exploring a new topic. Try using this for discovering new keywords or for broadening or narrowing your search.

General Databases Helpful to Public Health

ProQuest
Includes many full-text journal articles on biomedical topics. (If you have trouble getting to ProQuest databases, go to Tools, Internet Options, Browsing History and hit delete. Then delete the cookies only.)

How to Use Academic Search Complete and Proquest

How to Use Academic Search Complete and Proquest

Resources

Cochrane Library: Quick Reference Guide
User Guides - available in several languages and include instructions and hints on the features and functionality of key products.
Embase: Video tutorials
Video tutorials that cover ways to design and refine your searches in Embase.
Global Health: Video Tutorial
Video tutorial on how to navigate the EBSCO search interface.
PubMed Online Training
Collection of videos on how to execute basic, advanced, and Mesh searches in PubMed.