Skip to main content
Banner Image

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Tutorials and Guides

How to Access CIAO

  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) can be accessed from the Library homepage by selecting E-resources.  Find Columbia International Affairs Online on the alphabetical list of electronic resources. It is also listed under the subject category: International Affairs
  • From off campus, locate Columbia International Affairs Online on the E-resources page, as described above. You will be prompted for your QU login.   

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Columbia International Affairs Online (CAIO)

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in International Affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Resources on the CIAO Homepage: The homepage offers many starting points for finding information on International Affairs.  Use the navigation bar on the left side of the page to access the following resources:

  • Working Papers. Working Papers and Conference Proceedings are works in progress, papers submitted for publication in refereed journals, or chapters intended for publication in proceedings volumes.
  • Journal Articles. CIAO provides journal articles and abstracts in the field of International Affairs. Articles are full text unless noted by an asterisk (indicating an abstract) or a dagger (indicating a mixture of abstracts and full text).
  • Books. Entire books are available in CIAO. Books are listed by publisher. Available full text books will have hyperlinked chapters in the table of contents or a link to the PDF. Some titles only provide the abstract and a table of contents, or selections from the book.
  • Policy Briefs are short, topical essays and position papers.
  • Case Studies. Original papers written exclusively for CIAO by leading scholars that examine the effects of important events in history or recurring topics, such as global warming. 
  • Course Packs. Ready-made selections of CIAO materials—journal articles, book chapters, working papers, and policy briefs, which provide opposing views and  arguments on a given topic. Each pack includes a sidebar of links to other outside sources, maps, and primary materials.
  • Videos. Although not an extensive list, videos are provided by a few institutions.
  • What's New. Each month, new Working Papers and Policy Briefs are highlighted. It is possible to sign up for monthly updates. 
  • Atlas. This feature provides current and archived economic and political reports on over 200 countries from the  Economist Intelligence Unit. Use the interactive map to access country reports. Country reports include a detailed map, a country briefing with the main facts, a political report, and an economic report. 

Searching in CIAO

To locate materials on a specific issue or topic, use either the basic or advanced search.

Basic Search. A search box is available in the top right area of the page.

  • Type in a search term, such as "arab spring." Enclose search phrases of two words or more in quotation marks to return results that include that exact phrase.
  • You may narrow your search by clicking on Search within Results directly above the results list. Add another term, for example "Egypt" to view only the resources that are related to Egypt and the Arab Spring.
  • To find out more about a resource, click on More Information, located next to each resource listed.
  • Select the title of a resource to view it.

Advanced Search. There is a link to the advanced search screen under the basic search box on the homepage and at the top of every results list. You can focus your search in a variety of ways by using the advanced search:

  • Use the boxes at the top of the screen to search for an exact phrase, an exact word (or absence of word) within the text of the document.
  • For a topic search, use the Subject field.
  • Use the drop down menu to choose a Type of material, such as policy brief, working paper, journal article, etc.
  • You may also search for materials from a particular author or institution
  • Results may also be limited to particular a region by use of the drop down menu
  • date or date range may also be chosen.

Other Features

  • Most articles and other materials are in PDFs format and may be emailed using the tools in the Acrobat Reader toolbar. 
  • Click on Search Tips above the basic or advanced search results list for more ways to make your search more accurate.
  • To see newly added materials, click on what's new in the left navigation bar.