Skip to Main Content

Reference Resources

This guide is for finding factual information in reliable references resources in the library and online.

Online Dictionaries

Dictionary.com
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary and Thesaurus
Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English Online
Infoplease Dictionary
Roget’s International Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases
Google Translate
AcronymFinder
Acronym Search
Text Message Shorthand (IM, SMS) and Internet Acronyms
NetLingo The Internet Dictionary: Online Dictionary of Computer and Internet Terms, Acronyms, Text Messaging, Smileys ;-)
Abbreviations.com
The Free Dictionary - Dictionary, Encyclopedia and Thesaurus

Oxford English Dictionary Online

OED - Oxford English Dictionary
Features include historical thesaurus, timelines, and source quotations for more than 600,000 words traced through 3 million quotations

General Dictionaries

Merriam-Webster's dictionary and thesaurus
Call Number: PE1628 .M367 2007
ISBN: 9780877796404
Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary by Oxford (Editor)
Call Number: PJ6640 .O94 2010
ISBN: 9780199561155
The Dictionary of Modern Quotations by Elizabeth Knowles (Editor)
Call Number: PN6081 .O895 2008
ISBN: 9780199547463

Oxford Word of the Day

Subject Dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of the Gulf Arab States by Malcolm C. Peck
Call Number: DS247.A15 P43 2008
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Call Number: R121 .D73 2012
ISBN: 9781416062578
Dictionary of Statistics and Methodology by W. Paul Vogt; R. Johnson
Call Number: HA17 .V64 2011
ISBN: 9781412971096
Architect's Illustrated Pocket Dictionary by Nikolas Davies; Erkki Jokiniemi
Call Number: NA31 .D38 2011
ISBN: 9780080965376
Garner's Dictionary of Legal Usage by Bryan Garner
Call Number: KF156 .G367 2011
ISBN: 9780195384208
Dictionary of business : Over 11,500 terms clearly defined by P.H. Collin
Call Number: HF1001 .C65 2010
A Dictionary of Physics by John Daintith (Editor)
Call Number: QC5 .D53 2009
ISBN: 9780199560011
Black's law dictionary
Call Number: KF156 .B53 2009
The Dictionary of Sports Studies by Dominic Malcolm
Call Number: GV567 .M335 2008
ISBN: 9781412907347
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by Richard J. Lewis
Call Number: QD5 .C5 2007
ISBN: 9780470124826