Research Guides: Interprofessional Education: Dictionaries

Medical Dictionaries at QU Library

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks are excellent places to start your research as they contain articles that summarize in a few paragraphs what's most important to know about a topic. Look for key concepts, terms, contexts, and the names of people who have done important work on your topic, plus bibliographies to guide your further reading.

Academia new medical dictionary : English-Arabic by قاسم سارة
Call Number: R121 .S27 2013
ISBN: 9789953370927
Publication Date: 2013
Black's Medical Dictionary by Harvey Marcovitch (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849725965
Publication Date: 2010-03-09
Concise Medical Dictionary by Elizabeth Martin
ISBN: 9780191767302
Publication Date: 2015
A Dictionary of Biomedicine by John Lackie
ISBN: 9780191727948
Publication Date: 2010
Dictionary of medical terms.
ISBN: 9992142324
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by Dorland
ISBN: 1416062572
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Hitti's new medical dictionary : English-Arabic with appendices & Arabic-English glossary by Yusuf K. Hitti, Ahmad Al-Khatib.
Call Number: R121 .H58 2011
ISBN: 9789953868837
Publication Date: 2011
Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations with CD-ROM by Stanley Jablonski (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849724050
Publication Date: 2009-04-09
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions UK Edition Text and Evolve eBooks Package
ISBN: 9781849724289
Publication Date: 2009-07-21
Mosby's Emergency Dictionary by William Garcia
ISBN: 0801679419
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
ISBN: 9781849724418
Publication Date: 2009-09-17

Medical Dictionaries on the web

Dictionary.com Medical Dictionary
From the American Heritage Medical Dictionary, containing over 45,000 medical terms.
Medical Dictionaries, Drugs & Medical Searches
MediLexicon contains medical searches, news and resources for medical, pharmaceutical and healthcare professionals.
MediLexicon
Online dictionary that contains definitions and explanations of thousands of medical terms and also features pronunciations and abbreviations.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
MedTerms
Medical dictionary with image slideshows.
Unified Medical Dictionary
The Unified Medical Dictionary (UMD) is a multilingual medical dictionary contains more than 150 000 terms in English and Arabic.
WHO has taken the lead in maintaining and developing it, with valuable contribution from the Arab Health Ministers’ Council, Arab Medical Union and Arab League Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (ALECSO). A specialized committee of experts was set up to collect, verify and add to the medical terms.