Resources to Support Interprofessional Education The resources on this guide will support the teaching and learning of students as well as researchers who have an interest in or participate in interprofessional (IP) learning or teaching activities.
CDC’s (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) official app helps you explore a variety of health information including our health articles, popular journals, timely updates and access to social media. This application is a companion to CDC’s trusted website (www.cdc.gov).
DrawMD for iPad helps physicians create detailed, interactive visuals to easily explain complex issues and procedures to patients. Modules include General Surgery, Orthopedics, Cardiology, Obgyn, ENT, Pediatrics, and more. These apps are all free. http://www.drawmd.com/
FastStats is an official application from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and puts access to topic-specific statistics at your fingertips. Topics include diseases and conditions, family life, health care and insurance, health status and risk factors, injuries, life stages and populations and reproductive health.
A free, professional-grade medical translation tool. MediBabble is a robust history-taking and examination application designed to improve the safety, efficiency, and overall quality of care for non-English speaking patients.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Monthly Prescribing Reference (MPR) provides concise prescription and OTC drug information, side effects and interactions for medical professionals. eMPR is a compiled database of up-to-date drug monographs from all MPR print publications (MPR, NPPR, PAPR, Pediatrics, Hematology/Oncology, OB/GYN, Pharmacists, etc.).
Includes PubMed®, MedlinePlus, DailyMed, AIDSinfo, Digital Collections, Drug Information Portal, Embryo, LactMed, Radiation Emergency Medical Management, Wireless System for Emergency Responders, TOXNET and more.
Provides a simplified, mobile-friendly web interface to access PubMed. PubMed contains millions of article citations from thousands of biomedical journals. Many citations include abstracts. *This version of PubMed does not include all functions found on the full site.
A free app to view favorite journals, search the literature, and get full text without having to go to another site or having to remember a password. This app provides seamless access to various universities' ezproxy servers. The iPad version also allows underlining, highlighting, annotating and freehand drawing.
A clinical decision support tool available for multiple smartphone platforms. It includes free resources such as RxDrugs (US only), Archimedes (medical calculator with 200+ tools), Outlines in Clinical Medicine (evidence-based clinical information on hundreds of topics), and MedAlert (latest trial results, clinical news, and drug alerts). Skyscape also sells hundreds of key e-books for physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and other healthcare professionals. http://www.skyscape.com/index/home.aspx
A free evidence-based clinical assessment tool for healthcare clinicians and trainees at the point-of-care to guide physical exams and bedside assessments. It utilizes data on pre-test probabilities, post-test probabilities, and likelihood ratios from over 130 clinical studies and meta-analyses (e.g. the JAMA Rational Clinical Exam series). It covers key diseases and topics commonly encountered in clinical practice. http://www.snapdx.co/
Archimedes is a uniquely innovative calculator application with over 150 essential tools which give you results in seconds. No more looking up complicated formulas and struggling with variables - just enter the necessary values in Archimedes and get the answers you need.
Registration for iMedicalApps is free. Registration enables you to have access to the extensive library of “how-to” videos we have created at iMedicalApps. When you register you receive a weekly newsletter summarizing essential medical apps you can use in practice and essential news pertaining to mobile technology. Registration gives you the ability to use and access our Forum area