There are many programs available for medical professionals, some of which are free and some of which are paid. Listed below are descriptions of some relevant to pharmacy. When linking to specific sites, note any specific hardware or operating system requirements. For example, some applications may not be compatible with Blackberry or iPhone devices.
Disclaimer: Some free resources are supported by companies who are marketing their products. Most make it clear that the medical content is independently generated and that sponsored content is clearly identified; however, users need to vet those resources for potential bias. It is good practice to consult more than one resource.
AHQR: Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS) (Free) A quick hands-on tool designed to help primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients."
Calculate by QxMD (Free) Point-of-care tools in the areas of cardiology, internal medicine, nephrology, general practice, hematology, gastroenterology, emergency medicine, oncology, orthopedics, respirology, neurology, neurosurgery, general surgery and obstetrics.
Clinical Trials (Free) Search the National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of available clinical trials worldwide, find studies matching specified categories/keywords and view detailed information about specific clinical trials.
Diagnosaurus (Free) Provides over 1000+ differential diagnoses of symptoms, signs, and diseases.
Epocrates (Free) Provides a clinical drug database with about 2,800 drug monographs for the PDA. Each monograph includes information on pricing, adverse reactions, contraindications, pharmacokinetics as well as related drug monograph topics. Available for a number of platforms, this product also includes continual free updates and medical news.
Guideline Central App (Free) Provides free Guideline Summaries, MEDLINE/PubMed, Drug Information, Clinical Trials, ePSS, calculators and more.
MedicalMnemonics.com (Free) An online searchable database of medical mnemonics to help remember the important details.
Medscape from WebMD (Free) A comprehensive information service that includes a drug database of over 6,000 generic and brand name drugs, plus hundreds of herbals, supplements and antidotes; a drug interaction checker that quickly shows interactions for a combination of up to 30 drugs, herbals and/or supplements; medical news with up-to-date, specialty-focused medical content across more than 30 specialties; the WebMD Health Directory featuring contact information for over 400,000 physicians, 57,000 pharmacies, and 6,000 hospitals in a convenient search format.
MerckMedicus (Free) Available after registration to state licensed health care providers, MerckMedicus wireless will give you access to current medical resources, including: The Merck Manual, Professional Edition; Harrison’s Practice Answers on Demand; Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests; MEDLINE journal abstracts; and Reuters medical news.
PubMed for Handhelds (Free) Search PubMed with screens designed for ease of use on a PDA. Includes PICO search form.
PubMed Mobile (Free) simplified interface to access PubMed using its basic search functionality.
Shots (Free) Immunization schedules for children and adults, produced by the Group on Immunization Education of the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine. For Palm OS or Pocket PC.
SKYSCAPE CLINICAL CALCULATOR | MOBILE APP & WEB Skyscape Clinical Calculator™ - Free Medical Calculator provides mobile healthcare practitioners with the latest in trusted clinical information for more accurate, confident and informed decision-making at point-
WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders) (Free) A system
designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. Developed by the NLM, WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. WISER is available for a number of platforms.